1. Sports

2010 USA Diving Awards and Accolades

David Boudia Named Diver of the Year for the Second Time in Three Years


David Boudia

David Boudia

Photo: Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

The 2010 United States Aquatic Sports Convention in Dallas, Texas was the site of USA Diving's annual awards presentation to the diving community for excellence in diving, coaching, and contributions to the sport as a whole.

Diver of the Year – David Boudia

David Boudia was named the USA Diving Athlete of the Year for the second time in his career. His 2010 highlights include winning both platform and synchronized platform this summer at the AT&T National Diving Championships. In the former he set a U.S. record of 605.40 for six dives and had three dives that scored over 100 points!

Overall Boudia won four national titles in 2010 - two individual platform and two platform synchro titles. Boudia also teamed with Haley Ishimatsu to win an exhibition event at the 2010 FINA World Cup. The mixed gender event required divers to perform dives from both springboard and platform.

Moose Moss Age Group Coach of the Year – Justin Sochor

Justin Sochor was awarded the Moose Moss Age Group Coach of the Year Award after guiding the U.S. Elite Diving Academy out of Columbus, Ohio, to the team title at the USA Diving Junior National Championships. Two of his divers - David Dinsmore and Esztee Pryor, won two events each in the 12-13 age group. A third Samantha Bromberg won a bronze medal on platform at the 2010 Junior World Diving Championships.

Mike Peppe Award – Jeff Huber

Huber won the Mike Peppe Award for the outstanding senior diving coach for an unprecedented third consecutive season, and the tenth time in his career. Huber is the head coach of Indiana diving, which won the team title at the AT&T National Diving Championships for the second consecutive year.

Phil Boggs Award – Russ Bertram

Russ Bertram won the 2010 Phil Boggs Award, annually given to an individual who has achieved individual excellence in diving and has given back a part of themselves to the sports continuation and success.

As the Aquatics Director at the University of Arizona, Bertram’s tireless efforts during 2010 brought about the successful hosting of three major events in Tucson, Ariz. – the USA Diving USA Diving Age Group National Championships; the USA Diving Junior National Championships; and the FINA Junior World Diving Championships.

Glen McCormick Award – Frank Gorman

The 1964 Olympic silver medalist on springboard, Frank Gorman received the Glen McCormick Award presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the sport of diving. Gorman’s efforts to maintain a diving e-mail group for members of the diving community, past and present, to communicate, share news and reminisce about the past.

Source: USA Diving

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Diving
  4. News and Results
  5. USA Divng
  6. 2010 USA Diving Awards - U.S. National Diving Awards and Accolades - 2010 Diver of the Year

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.